Friday, January 31, 2014

And the Winner Is......

This past Monday the American Library Association's annual awards were announced. Each year, ALA recognize children's and young adult authors, illustrators and media producers in a  variety of categories including the Caldecott for best illustrations and the Newbery Award for outstanding contribution to literature.
This year the Caldecott Award went to:
LOCOMOTIVE written and illustrated by Brian Floca


Caldecott Honor Books include:
Mr. Wuffles written and illustrated by David Wiesner
"Flora and the Flamingo," written and illustrated by Molly Idle
"Journey," written and illustrated by Aaron Becker

The Coretta Scott King Award goes to an African American writer and illustrator. This years winners were:
Author award: "P.S. Be Eleven," written by Rita Williams-Garcia
Illustrator award: "Knock Knock: My Dad's Dream for Me," illustrated by Bryan Collier and written by Daniel Beaty
Honor books
Author: "March: Book One," written by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin and illustrated by Nate Powell
Author: "Darius & Twig," written by Walter Dean Myers
Author: "Words with Wings," written by Nikki Grimes
Illustrator: "Nelson Mandela," written by Kadir Nelson

We have many of the winner and honor books already in the library and will be purchasing many of the others! Both preschoolers (Caldecott) and high schoolers have read many of the award winners! 

No comments:

Post a Comment